top of page
  • Writer's pictureUQ South Pacific Islander Association

Ronaldo Tago

UQSPIA CLASS OF 2020 ALUM

Ronaldo Tago - Samoan

Bachelors in Health, Sport and Physical Education (Honours)


"The past four and a half years at The University of Queensland completing my degree has been an experience that words truly cannot describe. During my course of studying, I can confidently say I endured every emotion possible to feel as it was one of the most challenging, yet rewarding experiences in my life. However, when I look back upon my experiences at UQ, it isn't the exams and assignments I remember, it's the people who were by my side that stand out to me.


During High School I had the standard NRL dream at the forefront with education behind it. Towards my final year of High School, injuries hampered this dream and with sport no longer the goal - my vision shifted to education. I decided to put 110% into my studies to attain a degree, something that I previously ignored as I was surrounded by people who disregarded further education. However, my parents helped push me by promoting studying to which I grabbed with both hands. The study itself was quite rigorous and intense, but with perseverance and commitment I found myself grinding through the work. My older brother was also a student of UQ who provided guidance and inspiration to complete my degree. However, a couple years in once he graduated I found I was in need of that 'family' feeling at University and I was blessed to come across a special person in my degree who was a part of UQ SPIA. One conversation led to the next, I had found not only a group of friends, but a lifetime set of usos' to fill that void of 'family' that was missing when my older brother left.


From this point on, University began to feel more like a home for me as I knew coming in each time I had people who I could share laughter, stress, happiness, anxiety and joy with. I found it beyond invaluable being able to share the tough and gritty experiences of University with people of the same culture. The brothers' from SPIA were an integral part of not only me graduating and finishing my degree, but they were an integral part of forming the man I am today. To end my testimony, I am now a Secondary Teacher and developed the aim of promoting young Pasifika students into Tertiary Education and supporting them from a cultural standpoint. My work is heavily inspired by the work of UQ SPIA and the great people within. I look forward to giving back in a way that I have been blessed with. May the lads in SPIA forever continue to pump steel."

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page