top of page
  • Writer's pictureUQ South Pacific Islander Association

Betty Hosking

UQSPIA CLASS OF 2020 ALUM

Betty Hosking - I-Kiribati

Bachelor of Nursing



"Mauri, my name is Betty. My mother is from the beautiful country of Kiribati from the islands of Makin, Marakei, Butaritari and Tarawa, and my father is Australian.


In 2020 I graduated with a Bachelor of Nursing and since have gone straight into the workforce. Since graduating I was working in Aged Care as I was fortunate enough to be offered a Nursing position straight out of graduating.

My dream is to be an Indigenous Health/ Rural and Remote Area nurse. And I have been fortunate enough to be offered a 2 Year Graduate Program in Primary Health care nursing based in Alice Springs. Throughout the program I will be able to rotate placement sites through various remote/rural Aboriginal communities throughout Central Australia, a dream come true


Throughout my time at UQ, I have many highlights and I think all of which include UQSPIA from being cultural co-ordinator participating in colourful cultural nights, to being extra competitive at PVG and AUPAC to just enjoying the vibes at SPIA BBQs, I always felt comfortable and at home when I was surrounded by my UQSPIA fam.


SPIA has really helped me maintain my sanity while studying. With Nursing only being offered as a full-time degree at UQ and bouncing between classes and 5 days of placement a week, having something like UQSPIA to fall back onto when days get rough really was a blessing.


Now that my time at UQ has come to an end, I just want to thank every single SPIA member who made my university life that much more enjoyable, y’all are amazing. ️


Thank youuu

Kam rabwa"

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page