top of page
  • Writer's pictureUQ South Pacific Islander Association

Jonathan Macanawai

UQSPIA CLASS OF 2020 ALUM

Jonathan Macanawai - Fijian/Samoan

Bachelor of Health, Sport & Physical Education (Honours)


"I was not sure of what I wanted to do but I knew going through High School I wanted to be a professional AFL player. I was constantly reminded about a ‘Plan B’ and doing well in my education by Nau and Ta. I worked at it and I was blessed with the opportunity to go to UQ.


I thought at least if I did go to University, I would play for UQ in Queensland’s state league competition. I would work towards my dream of playing AFL and I would study. I remembered family members that were UQ graduates and also some that worked at UQ as cleaners, I felt privileged to study and this became a unique motivator for me to train and study.


For two years, I was blessed with a Sports AFL scholarship from UQ. Balancing a full study load at University and playing at state league level was beyond what I was familiar with and eventually things did get out of hand. I had played in disappointing losing seasons. I failed some courses and it was all becoming demoralizing. Sometimes it felt isolating, playing AFL and studying a program where there wasn’t another person I could identify with.


Towards the end of my program, I found a fellow Samoan brother undertaking the same degree and he’s been a great support throughout my program. UQSPIA has been a massive part of my University experience. Its members have inspired me to develop a love for my culture. I have formed a lifetime of friendships and experiences that will hold a special place in my life. I have been part of a brotherhood through UQSPIA and these gentlemen have taught me what it means to pump steel as an analogy to proceed with life in spite of what we may face, and that support is accessible.


I came in with a goal to graduate and to excel in football, instead I’m blessed that I’m leaving with so much more. Thank you to my family and my great friends for their support through this chapter. All the glory goes to God, I wouldn’t have done it without Him.


Vinaka vaka levu/Faafetai tele lava."

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page