top of page
  • Writer's pictureUQ South Pacific Islander Association

Keani Otene

UQSPIA CLASS OF 2020 ALUM

Keani Otene - Maori/Cook Island

Bachelor of Business Management


"KIA ORA!


My name is Keani Otene and I have just graduated from UQ with a Bachelor of Business Management and I could not be more excited! I majored in Human Resources and I plan on going straight into the workforce to execute my knowledge and gaining the practical experience of my major. I do have the vision to continue onto higher levels of study by completing my Masters or possibly going into Law which I know will exhilarate and challenge me at the same time. Throughout my 4.5 years in university, I gained a lot of memories, friends, and a lot of sleepless nights. What I enjoyed the most was the people I worked with. I learned that they were headed in the same direction as I to succeed in our tertiary studies and go on to living a bright future in the workforce that complimented our degrees. It made the stressful times in university a lot easier. During my time I met the wonderful members of UQSPIA. It warmed my heart to know that a lot of people from the same or similar pacific cultural background were pursuing the same goal to succeed in tertiary education and break the Polynesian stereotype that for years I was told that we would only succeed in the sport. I am the first person in my family to complete a university degree and I am only praying that will not be the last. Accomplishing this and thriving alongside other Polynesians made me even more proud to be Maori/Cook Island and to hopefully inspire other young Maori and Cook islanders to seek tertiary education. Without my tutors, lecturers, whanau and friends, and almighty god. Accomplishing any of this would not be possible. University was the best decision I ever made!


Aroha mai xx"

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page