top of page
  • Writer's pictureUQ South Pacific Islander Association

Tufitaufao Mary Vaifale

UQSPIA CLASS OF 2021 ALUM

Tufitaufao Mary Vaifale - Samoan

Bachelor of Science (Environmental Science)



"With this qualification I will return home to Samoa where I hope to find a job within my field. This is where I wish to contribute to addressing climate change and environmental issues in my home country. I plan to work and gain experience before possibly pursuing further studies in relation to environmental and earth science. I chose this field of study as I have always been interested in science and it has always been encouraged growing up in Samoa; especially being at the forefront of climate change.


These past three years have been a blur of both good and bad memories, the good definitely outweighing the latter. Highlights of my journey have been the friendships I have made and the good fellowship over the years. Being a part of UQ SPIA has given me a sense of home since moving to Brisbane in pursuit of my studies. Being involved in their events such as the culture nights, meet and greets, etc, and being surrounded by the people I have met, has been so rewarding. My involvement in SPIA has helped me embrace my culture and heritage and use it to keep me grounded in the pursuit of my tertiary education. I am grateful for what these last three years have taught me, the people I’ve crossed paths with and for making it to the finish line.


Thank you SPIA for being a part of my journey!"

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page