top of page
  • Writer's pictureUQ South Pacific Islander Association

Sekuini Solomona

UQSPIA CLASS OF 2021 ALUM

Sekuini Solomona - Samoan

Bachelor of Engineering (Honours) Majoring in Mechanical Engineering and Bachelor of Economics.



"I came to university because I've always had the idea of becoming an engineer, ever since I knew what it was. I have had a fascination for finding out how things work - whether it was a car, air conditioning, planes, internet, trains etc. since a young boy. I didn't start an economics degree until my mentor, within SPIA, pushed me to do it. Wanting to know how things worked now extended into the realm of how the world works. Graduating didn't come easy, and 6 years is a long time to spend in any one place, but it's plenty of time for you to invest in yourself, to serve and to learn.


As much as I have enjoyed my time at university, I knew I needed to spend my ten thousand hours in making sure I was ready to break into a highly competitive profession, let alone a highly competitive industry. I learned that much of this is to do with how you serve others outside of the lecture halls, labs and tutorial rooms, and the challenge is doing all of this alongside the gruelling studies. It was hard to say the least, but it was worth it, because I have now kicked off a career in the energy and resources industry, to play my part in facing the biggest challenge that faces our planet, and threatens the survival of our homelands; the transition to decarbonise and power our lives with cleaner energy. Changes like this don't happen overnight - contributing to this change drives me to succeed.


This success isn't mine alone; this belongs to my aiga, and belongs to SPIA. Because of SPIA, a Pasifika high school student can now walk into a world leading institution knowing that despite the space they will navigate is not safe, those who have come before have left behind this gift - a space you will share with driven, passionate people who all share the same laughs, looks and languages as yourself. It wasn't until recently that you could even imagine a university computer lab fully occupied by Pasifika university students studying together, with a rugby ball, basketball or guitar at arms length, ready to jam at a moments notice. This is something special that you should never take for granted.


I look back on the 6 years and feel incredibly satisfied that throughout it all, I knew that I was a part of something special, and I knew that we could all go on to do incredible things for ourselves, our families and our community - I know this because I witnessed many SPIA alumni go on to do incredible things. My SPIA peers, you are all the embodiment of Pasifika excellence. I urge you all to continue to forge your identity in the academic space, continue to blaze a trail, and continue to break the mould, because it's communities like ours that will give rise to a new generation of Pasifika engineers, teachers, nurses, doctors, consultants and academics for years to come."


Tofa soifua.


Phillippians 4:13

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page