top of page
  • Writer's pictureUQ South Pacific Islander Association

Romalani Sulupu Leofo

UQSPIA CLASS OF 2015 ALUM

Romalani Sulupu Leofo - Samoan

Bachelor of Commerce Majoring in Accounting and Finance


“Talofa lava, I was blessed with an AusAID scholarship from the Samoan and Australian governments to study the Bachelor of Commerce degree majoring in Accounting and Finance at UQ. Having successfully completed this qualification, I will be staying for a further 12 months to pursue Honours. This will be a great opportunity to challenge myself to expand my learning curve from rote learning and reading textbooks to critical analysis, contributing to literature and more. I think this is a great pathway to choose if PhD is something of interest to you.


It has been a tough yet rewarding experience for me in the last 3 years. Coping with homesickness was one of the main challenges I encountered when I left my family in Samoa and moved to Brisbane. However, through these challenges I have matured into the woman I am today.


A word of advice to my brothers and sisters who still have a few more semesters to go, commitment is key to get those flying colours GPA but don't neglect the value of lifelong friendships made along the way. The journey matters as much as the destination.”

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page