top of page
  • Writer's pictureUQ South Pacific Islander Association

Phillip Ma'aelopa

UQSPIA CLASS OF 2015 ALUM

Phillip Ma’aelopa - Samoan

Bachelor of Arts majoring in Archaeology and Ancient History


“My plans haven't been set in stone as of yet, but I would love to go into the workforce either here in Australia, NZ or Canada. I studied ancient history and Archaeology because they complement each other and Archaeology was my major passion. I wanted to study it to prove the validity of the Bible and that is still the plan but I want to do something for our Pacific people as well.


UQSPIA has been an amazing support crew which I am proud to be a part of and they have become a family for me. Coming from South Auckland where I was surrounded by Islanders all the time, it was a shock for me coming to Australia. However, UQSPIA has helped make my life in Australia a whole lot better and I have loved being a part of this family network. It has made me appreciate the diversity both the Pacific and Australia and NZ have to offer and taught me little snippets from a variety of the languages that we speak.


Also, God is so good and man is He faithful! It is through Him that we have come together and are able to be successful with what we put our minds to. I wish you all nothing but the best and His many blessings and know that even though the world may take us away we will always have a bond through Him.”

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page