top of page
  • Writer's pictureUQ South Pacific Islander Association

Jonathan Taufatofua


UQSPIA CLASS OF 2015 ALUM

Jonathon Taufatofua - Tongan/Australian

Bachelor of Engineering (Mechatronics) with Honours Class I, Bachelor of Science (Physics)


"Going to UQ was a big step in my life. It was very different to my primary and secondary education in Tonga, and the sheer number of things you are exposed to at university can become overwhelming. It is normal to feel the culture shock and to feel hesitant outside your comfort zone, but that is what a bigger life is about...when we open ourselves to new things, we face uncertainty and challenges.


Being a Pacific Islander at university is a huge deal. We are underrepresented and so we are underestimated. But we are like anyone else from any other walk of life. If we want a better career, higher income, or better education then there is nothing that can stop us from achieving it but our own mindset. And no university is better than any other, as long as you work to earn your degree/certification then you are representing and expanding the education and skillset of the peoples of the Pacific.


Undergraduate studies are stressful and tiring. But they are worth it. I found that just joining and working with groups of people who are working on the same assignments and in the same classes has provided me with great friends and improved my confidence through my education. And joining groups like UQSPIA shows how much support there is at university for Pacific Islanders, while making friends along the way.


I am not sure where my degree will take me. I left straight into the workforce and am currently working in research, but there is always the option of higher-level studies. I have no problem with being unsure or indecisive with my career or further education as I know there will be a point where I will decide, and university has provided me with skills that support my career."

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page