top of page
  • Writer's pictureUQ South Pacific Islander Association

Jamila Sineriala Sese

UQSPIA CLASS OF 2016 ALUM

Jamila Sineriala Sese - Ni-Vanuatu

Bachelor of Business Management Majoring in Business Economics


"Three years ago, I left my family and comfort back in Vanuatu to pursue this degree. Three years and a thousand 2-minute noodles later, I can confidently say that my experience at UQ, although one of my greatest challenges thus far, has been a journey filled with continuous learning and the most rewarding experiences.


While being a South Pacific Islander in a prestigious university as UQ was eye-opening and pushed me beyond my comfort zone, every once in a while, I was reminded of the community life and culture back home. The foundation and growth of UQ SPIA was one of the greatest milestone I had the opportunity to witness while studying. UQ SPIA is not simply a social club - we are a family, standing together to motivate and encourage one another to achieve the goals we set for ourselves.


People often say: 'Nothing worth having comes easy'. That, while true, should be a motivation to each and every one of us: the dreams we have for ourselves and our families can be challenging to realize. However, let us not allow these barriers to discourage us from reaching our ultimate goal. Because in the end, the pride and joy you feel in this achievement will be far more precious than all the sleepless nights, never-ending tears and stressful assessments.


With my degree, I hope to work for my country’s government and serve our nation by providing quality services to our people, in a world where westernisation and globalisation have become inevitable. Majoring in Business Economics has widened my perspective in understanding both the public and private sector, and I hope to be able to practice all my learning at home soon. I was once told, “Never stop learning, because life never stops teaching”. I hope to further my studies in the near future, and I encourage you to continue learning – the world is yours to explore. And with each step, remember there is a greater power that will always protect and guide you. Tankiu Tumas & God bae i blessem yu.”

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page